Saturday, November 6, 2010

Keep the balls unruffled.


"Machete? That's only good if you want to make a brutal point. It's low tech. Completely unsuited."

Well, that's right. I'm watching 'Machete' by Robert Rodriguez.

Film was good, and crisp story line. Predictable. Good for cult fans of him, like me. I'm wondering, how this guy able to get the funds to finance this sort of movie. I'm not sure about the returns he'll get in doing one. But hey, it's Robert Rodriguez, he's sitting on top there together with Quentin, and a whole other film makers as well.

"With an opening of only an $11.3M three-day weekend, it helps that 20th Century Fox acquired this Robert Rodriguez pic for only $6M. "We always believed the movie would be so strong in the Latino community. After all, it's a Latino director with cachet, a great Hispanic cast, and part of our sell has been that Machete is the first Latino superhero,"

Whenever he's making movie, it makes serious people like me becomes curious. Curious with what he has to offer. Who ever thought of making the first Latino Superhero? I'm sure this idea has been casted gazillion times for the past decades in the community.But no one has the balls to do it, not enough to make the effort to convince people with money, nor a big production studio to support it. Robert Rodriguez did. So whenever I see people rated his movie to B, or with 1-2 stars out of five, or utter the words "Cinematic technique was great but crap storyline"? Better wreck themselves out. They don't appreciate the great length effort he took out to produce one here.

One thing smart about this directors. They tend to take the forgotten actors/actresses into their cast. Who ever thought Lindsay Lohan going to big screen again, doing a semi-epic movie? And Danny Trejo, Danny Trejo. The familiar face behind the scene has his own staring now. That makes me curious. Remember Michael Madsen in Kill Bill? What a comeback!

Ok, it stops here. Continue with the movie.

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Millenium Year


We are in the 11th month of the year, another more month and after, we're 1 year older. "Time wait for no man." I could still recall all the things I did last year. Memories are still fresh in my mind.

To review the year, things were not that bad for me. This year I shouldered great responsibility. I was given more work, and more authority. Not to mention to things which I am always answered for. I think I've handled all pretty good except for some few minor glitches here and there, and I always learn through any mistake I made. Next year, I would like to be more aggressive and firm, and would like to learn more about communications to win the 'hearts and minds' of my peers.

Being the youngest in my level tends to be a very hard thing sometimes. But I do feel, the wise are not that wiser anyway. I don't need to heed and bow to what the elders always say. I'm tired of being 'advised'. If we are smart enough, we all can learn from what we've seen and observed. But, out of respect, we still need to show our acknowledgement to everyone.

2011, eleven years passed the millennium. What resolution is there to be achieved this time?